Debbie Abrahams re-elected as MP for Oldham East and Saddleworth

Labour’s Debbie Abrahams has been re-elected as MP for Oldham East and Saddleworth with a majority of 8,182 votes.

Debbie Abrahams MP

Voters turned out at the General Election polls on June 8 to give the win to Mrs Abrahams with 25,629 votes ahead of Kashif Ali, candidate for the Conservative Party on 17,447 votes.

Third was Ian Bond from UKIP with 2,278 votes while Liberal Democrat Jonathan Smith came fourth with 1,683 votes.

The victory, announced at the Queen Elizabeth Hall at around 3am on June 9, sees Mrs Abrahams improve on her majority of 6,002 votes when she was elected in 2015.

Mrs Abrahams said: “I’m hugely honoured to be re-elected as your MP with an increased majority. Thank you for your support and putting your confidence in me.

“This election has defied all polls and predictions.

“There will be time for reflection and analysis later; but I believe our manifesto spoke to people of all ages and of all backgrounds.

“It resonated with them for a desire for a fairer Oldham and Saddleworth, and a fairer country, and I will work tirelessly to deliver that for you.”

Mrs Abrahams will now represent Oldham East and Saddleworth for another five years until the next General Election.

The turnout for the Oldham East and Saddleworth constituency was 65.31 per cent, which is slightly higher than 2015’s figure of 62.29 per cent.

Meanwhile in Oldham West and Royton Labour’s Jim McMahon was re-elected with 29,846 votes ahead of Conservative Christopher Glenny on 12,648. The turnout was 63.38 per cent.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *