Lib Dems promise ‘genuine reform’ after winning most seats on Saddleworth Parish Council

THE Liberal Democrats say they will look to deliver “genuine reform” as a successful night at the polls saw them win the most seats on Saddleworth Parish Council.

Voting took place in six wards in Saddleworth on May 2 to elect a total of 20 councillors who will serve for the next four years, with the results declared on May 3.

The Liberal Democrats won nine seats across the wards, alongside seven for the Conservatives, two for Labour and two for Saddleworth First!

Cllr Alan Belmore, leader of the Lib Dems on Saddleworth Parish Council, said: “These have been a fantastic set of local elections for the Liberal Democrats nationally and a great night here in Saddleworth.

“Overall, we’ve gained three seats and are now the largest party on the council.

“We promised genuine reform as a key part of our manifesto – and we will now deliver that.

“The Liberal Democrats will be showing real leadership on the council – and we invite all councillors who believe that we can do so much better as a council to work with us to change this council for the better.”

In the elections, the Liberal Democrats were dominant in Springhead Lower (also covering Grotton) where they won all five seats with Sam Al-Hamdani, Barbara Beeley, Richard Darlington, Brian Lord and Pat Lord.

In Springhead Higher (also covering Austerlands and Scouthead) two new faces – Duncan Goodman and Carl Roberts – join the Parish Council representing the recently-formed Saddleworth First! Party.

The Greenfield ward (also covering Grasscroft, Friezland and Lydgate) saw Jamie Curley, John Hudson and Neil Allsopp (Conservatives), Alan Belmore and Mavis Bingley (Liberal Democrats) elected.

And in Uppermill, the two candidates who received the most votes were Pam Byrne and Graham Sheldon.

In Delph (also covering Denshaw), three candidates were elected unopposed: Kevin Dawson (Lib Dem), George Hulme (Labour), and Luke Lancaster (Conservative).

The same occurred in Dobcross (also covering and Diggle), with Linda Dawson (Lib Dem), Kathryn Phillips (Labour), Max Woodvine (Conservative) all elected unopposed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!