Nail-biting finish in close Saddleworth Clarion Mountain Time Trial

ONLY 13 seconds separated the first three riders in the Saddleworth Clarion Mountain Time Trial.

Winner: Matt Moorhouse

On a glorious sunny evening, 64 cyclists of various abilities competed in the time trial that started and finished at Saddleworth Cricket, Bowls and Tennis Club.

The winner was Matt Moorhouse, of Preston CC , who recorded an impressive time of 48 min 2sec for the hilly 17-mile course. Matt was presented with £150 in Rapha vouchers and a Kwaremont beer and large tankard.

Just beaten into second place was Louis Szymanski, of Cycling Sheffield Giant, in 48.04 and Andy Nichols of Team B38/Underpin Racing in a time of 48.15 was third.

The winning female time of 1: 1.06 was posted by Karen Poole, of Sportstest RT. Karen was also presented with £150 in Rapha vouchers and was the inaugural recipient of the Annie Kenney Trophy, kindly donated by Saddleworth Parish Council.

Second and third-placed females were Charlotte Boothman, of ABC Centreville, in 1:02.16 and Janet Grint, of Stockport Tri Club, in 1:02.50.

The prize for the fastest U18 rider went to 15-year-old Francis Woodcock, of Bury Clarion Cycling Club, who finished 14thoverall with an extremely impressive time of 52.46, no doubt inspired by the exploits of former and honorary Bury Clarion member Simon Yates, who in the famous pink jersey of Giro d’Italia leader won that day’s stage into Osimo in Italy.

Nick Hutchinson

Kieran Manchester was presented with the award for fastest Clarion rider for his time of 52.57. Martha Tibbot, of Saddleworth Clarion, received the prize for fastest female Clarion rider with 1:02.50.

The coveted Lanterne Rouge prize of a box of Yorkshire Tea and Yorkshire Tea tea towel went to Emma Bowen, of Glossop Kinder Velo, riding her first time trial which she completed in 1hr 13min.

For further information on Saddleworth Clarion Cycling Club visit or their Facebook page.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *