Charles seals fifth major at Saddleworth

ACCOUNTANT CHARLES Nicholson got his figures right after winning Vice Captain’s Prize at Saddleworth Golf Club for a second time.

Winner Charles Nicholson, left, with Vice Captain Kevin Rafferty

The 53-year-old from Grasscroft, who last won the competition in 2001, was delighted to land his fifth major at Saddleworth.

“I haven’t won a major for about five years so let’s hope this is the catalyst for more,” he explained.

Charles’ success also saw his handicap reduced to four, which is his lowest ever.

“I set out my stall this year to reduce my handicap to four and achieved it by June so I am delighted with that,” he explained.

Charles had nett rounds of 69 and 67 off his handicap of five for 136, saying he played steady in both rounds with no standout moments.

In second place and only one shot behind was Mike Shore who is aged 81. He had nett scores of 68 and 69 for 137. Third was Bryn Parfitt (70 and 69 for 139).

The first-round prize went to John Scott (67) and second round to Gary Elds, also 67.

Another piece of silverware was determined when Ben Pullen and Barry Shaw-Allan lifted the Cyril Taylor Trophy.

They had a score of 67 in the greensome while runners up were Alan Squires and Nick Marner with 69 on the card from Gary Simpson and Dennis Chapman.

The Lombard Medal was won by Graham Hall with 72-6-66. Runner up was Jeff Howarth (81-13-68) on the card from Steve Harrington (73-5-68).

A team medal saw Roy Dobson, Les Beevers and Mike Shore, combined ages of 228, win with a score of 127.

There was a hole in one for Eddie Hall

Eddie Hall had plenty to celebrate as he scored a hole in one at the 158yd second as he and Kevin Rafferty won a four-ball betterball Stableford with 48 points, four clear of runners up Jordan Taylor and Rob Heap.

Meanwhile, in the women’s section the Coronation Foursomes were won by Ann Walsh and Linda Newman with 34 points in the Stableford, two clear of runners up Lillian Howarth and Pam Taylor.

A three-ball waltz competition produced a victory in the Stableford for Ann Allen, Sonia Dunn and Truda Dexter with 72 points.

Runners up were Maxine Parfitt, Alison Foy and Ann Head (68pts) on the card from Jean Barnes, Pam Taylor and Linda Kenworthy.

The Ladies EWGA Medal was won by Liz Hinchliffe (71) from Jane Warren (74) and Denise Brown (74).

The club’s qualifier for the Daily Mail Foursomes produced a win for Ann Head and Liz Hinchliffe (74.5) from runners up Jane Wild and Alison Forster (75).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *