Saddleworth Golf Club captains tee off for new season

THE NEW season at Saddleworth Golf Club is underway following the traditional drive-ins of both the captain and lady captain.

Club President Dave Newman, lady captain Ann Walsh and captain Ken Barnes

That was followed by a betterball Stableford which was won by Giacomo Cavallino and Neil Mooney with 44 points.

They won on the card from Steve Wild and Denis Lamb who also had the same total.

Third were Tony Schofield and Nick Edwards (43pts) on countback from Nigel Hughes and Jim Bradbury with the same score.

The women followed by their drive-in with a 12-hole four-ball Stableford that was won by Jane Wild and Eileen Simpson with 29pts.

The drive-in competitions were followed by a meal and entertainment with 105 people attending.

The day after the drive-in was a professional’s competition, a betterball Stableford that was won by Neil Bamford and Tony Schofield with 51 points.

Runners-up were Mark Orme and Martin Heap with 49 points while third were Ultan McGovern and Phil Sheerin with 48.

Ann Head and Debra Cockburn beat Oldham players Jane Antrobus and Lynn Kershaw 4 and 3 in the Daily Mail Foursomes.

It was a busy Easter weekend at Saddleworth with two competitions taking place.

Phil Sheerin and Dean McKenna won a Sunningdale medal with a net 68.

Runners-up were Duncan Midgley and Chris Russell (69) on the card from Ken Mills and Barrie Lees.

A professional’s competition, a four-ball betterball Stableford, saw Simon Fancy and Stephen Pullen emerge the victors with 46 points.

Runners-up were Duncan Midgley and Colin Campbell (45pts) on the card from Ian Buckley and Steve Asquith.

golf jordan bailey and dave newman
Jordan Bailey with club president Dave Newman

Meanwhile, the club’s junior captain Jordan Bailey held a drive-in to mark the official start of his year.

The 15-year-old from Greenfield took over from last year’s captain Ben Pullen.

Jordan, a pupil at Manchester Grammar School, is also a keen footballer playing for Alderley FC.

A 12-hole competition followed the drive-in and it was won by Elliot Gregory with Jordan finishing runner-up.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *