What do the elections mean?

Here, the Saddleworth Independent gives you an explanation as to what you’re voting for on May 7, 2015.


The General Election

Voters in Saddleworth elect the next MP for the Oldham East and Saddleworth constituency.
The MP represents the area in the Houses of Parliament and will vote on all laws put before the House of Commons. MPs also provide a crucial, local service to residents who are having trouble accessing public services, eg benefit claims or immigration issues.
Oldham East and Saddleworth has been held by Labour since the seat was formed in 1997, with the Lib Dems coming second in each election, missing out by only 103 votes last time round.
If a party has a majority of MPs across the country, they form the government; otherwise two or more parties may have to come together to form a coalition government.
You have one vote for your preferred candidate and the candidate with the most votes will win.

Read more about the candidates here.


Borough Elections

Voters in Saddleworth elect councillors to represent them on Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council. The council has responsibility for a range of services, including bin collection, roads and local schools.
There are 20 wards in the Oldham borough and each elects three borough councillors, with one up for election each year. Saddleworth is made up of three wards – Saddleworth North, Saddleworth South and Saddleworth West and Lees – and residents vote based on where they live (check your polling card).
You have one vote for your preferred candidate in your ward and the one with the most votes wins.

Read more about the candidates here.


Parish Elections

Voters in Saddleworth elect 20 councillors to the Saddleworth Parish Council. The council has responsibility for the Civic Hall, supporting community events and facilities and coordinating with relevant authorities on Saddleworth related issues.
Saddleworth is split into six wards, each electing a set number of councillors. The wards are:

  • Delph (3 councillors, covering Delph and Denshaw)
  • Dobcross (3 councillors, covering Dobcross and Diggle)
  • Greenfield (5 councillors, covering Grasscroft, Greenfield, Friezland and Lydgate)
  • Springhead Higher (2 councillors, covering Austerlands, Scouthead and Higher Springhead)
  • Springhead Lower (5 councillors, covering Lower Springhead and Grotton)
  • Uppermill (2 councillors, covering Uppermill)

Your number of votes is equal to the number of councillors in your area. Candidates with the most votes are elected.

Read more about the candidates here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *