Wonderful win for Saddleworth golfers in Dunham Forest Trophy

SADDLEWORTH Golf Club pulled off a fabulous 4.5-2.5 win at Mottram Hall in the Dunham Forest Trophy.

The team, captained by Tad Knebel, also comprised Alan Squires, Lee Rowbotham, Martin Orme, Nick Marner, Ben Pullen and Phil Laverty.

The season teed off with the captains drive in with father and son Dave and Ben Pullen triumphing in the Stableford with 49 points.

Runners-up were Tom Williams and Stewart Muller (45pts) while third place went to Ken Barnes and Mike Shore (44).

Lady captain’s drive-in was won by Pam Taylor and Anne Fitton (27pts) while runners-up were Janice Nicholson and Linda Kenworthy (26pts) on the card from Sue Booth and Jean Dervan.

A women’s American greensome was won by Kaye Orme and Debbie Cockburn with 38 points.

Second were Jean Dervan and Sue Knebel (33) while third place went to Denise Brown and Sue Booth (32).

Winners of a four-ball betterball Stableford were Sue Booth and Jean Dervan (40pts) from runners-up Denise Brown and Kathy Lacey (36).

Jack Bradbury and Steve Dawson celebrated holes-in-one during a singles Stableford.

Bradbury’s ace came at the 10th and Dawson’s on the second.

The competition was won by Matthew Chapman (43pts) from runner-up Stewart Muller and third-placed Anthony Schofield (42).

Winner of a four-ball betterball Stableford were Giacomo Cavallino and Nick Marner with 49 points from Ross Sutton and Darren Smith (48), Nigel Broomhead and John Nuttall (47).

Phil Sheerin and Ian Gregory won a four-ball betterball medal with a score of 56 from Ian LOangton and Steven Baron (61), Josh Bradbury and Jane Mooney (62).

And a Tuesday Stableford saw Howard Lees emerge the victor with 38 points from Dean Jagger (37) who was second on the card from Alan Squires.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *